The Megaphone : A Debate Blog

John Terry’s massive wages

Posted on: November 13, 2007

So apparently John Terry of Englad and Chelsea footballing fame gets paid a tasty £130,000 a week. The average wage in the UK is something like £23,000 a year. That means, and please excuse my shockingly bad maths skills… 5 years and 8 months to ear what John earns in one week. That’s 2,063 days to earn what he gets in just 7 days.

So today I want to know if you think footballers wages are fair, or do you think they get paid far too much.

I personally think it’s good that they get paid a lot of money, because there is loads of money made from ticket sales and I think it’s good that they get a big portion of that… it is after all the footballers who are entertaining the crowds. A lot of people complain about footballers getting paid too much, but I would much rather they get the money than some guy who wears a suit and smokes cigars rolled on the thighs of virgins all day.

So do you think they get paid fairly or is it ridiculous how much they get paid.

I know I haven’t updated ina while, I have been busy with freelance work and stuff. I have however been posting the random crap I find on my tumblelog. Things like the wonderbra spoof on the Dairy milk ad, which is well worth a watch… for more than one reason. And quotes from the likes of Richard Kelly (director of Donnie Darko) and Bat Pegs, which are ace.

Anyway I apologise for the poor spelling of which I’m sure there are loads as Sarah’s computer doesn’t do a spellcheck as you type and I’m in a rush. So on that note, in the words of Duncan Banatine: I’m out.

4 Responses to "John Terry’s massive wages"

Those who complain are just jealous. They’ve got a talent in a field that pays bucketloads – good on ‘em!

I would much rather they get the money than some guy who wears a suit and smokes cigars rolled on the thighs of virgins all day.

Why does it have to be those guys who were a suit and smoke cigars rolled on the thighs of virgins? Why can’t some way be found to pay that money to the hard working people that serve our country? Teachers, firemen, police men, the military and so forth. People that actually make a difference instead of those idiots who go around sexing up women, drink driving and generally making cocks of themselves all because they can kick a ball around a field?

But then I feel the same about politicians and so-called celebrities, so it’s nothing ‘personal’ against footballers.

I love watching football but I disagree. The amount *some* footballers earn is too much, not that I’d prefer the money to go to “some guy who wears a suit and smokes cigars rolled on the thighs of virgins all day” – hah. The money could easily be used to improve pitches/stadiums/facilities…or even work towards the reduction of ticket prices.

@Jem by men in suits who smoke cigars I meant the people behind the scenes of football, not just random business guys in suits. I agree that they are overpaid in comparison to those people who we literally couldn’t live without, but I’d rather them get the money than the guys behind the scenes.

Leave a Reply

About the Megaphone

The Megaphone is a place where you can voice your opinions, ideas or solutions to the day’s question posted by me. The subject of these questions will range from “serious” political issues to the utterly ridiculous random crap which occasionally floats around my head. Join the debate team. Enjoy the blog or read more about it.

Latest from the Megaphone blog…

I have been thinking about what happened to Mr Muscle and was Laura White wrongly dismissed from the X Factor. Lately I have also been pondering what your Halloween costume of choice is... mine is not the old toilet roll mummy. I also pondered who is the sexiest 007 and who is the sexiest bond girl. I also wanted to know which books you are reading at the moment. In other news some sunovabitch keep hot-linking to my sexy picture of Kate Moss and I am not happy about it grrrr. Also Shannyn Sossamon, Jennifer Garner as Elektra, Hello Boys, Carol Vorderman and Angelina as Tomb Raider.

Blog Stats

  • 91,443 lovers
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

